brunoaudio

audiophille or audiofool... what are the stupid audio devices you have seen

Hi all 

DISSCLAMER

Now i have no intent to offend anyone reading this after all every one is intitled to there own opinion. 

Have you ever seen a audio product that is just stupid well i have so i decided to start a post about it. from rocks that sit on your cables that they say "inproved sound" to things like high end audiophile grounding boxes  what have you seen  that you think is silly and what do you class as audiophool gear?

Thanks

Bruno

I repeat your disclaimer - I have respect for everyone and no intent to offend. This is a sensitive topic indeed! My opinion, Audio is like a religion, in some ways. They both rely on faith in unverifiable claims!

I'm a valve amplifier designer and builder, at the paying-hobby level. (This is not self promotion, I'm not plugging my work, please don't ban me!!) In by builds I always explain my philosophy. Which is that I have no sympathy whatsoever with any claims made by manufacturers of €9000 power cords and the like.

• You can read more of my philosophy on my blog but beware trigger alert I'm using strong language and taking no prisoners there... it's a bit of a rant!

If you want to spend that sort of money then go right ahead, and if it brings you enjoyment, you could argue it's done its job. But I can demonstrate how I could (for example) spend 5 cents on a 390K anode resistor instead of a 360K one, and the change or improvement in sound quality will be measurable, and make millions of times more difference than qoing from a $9 to a $9000 power cable.

Like any craft there's an element of paraphernalia and ritual associated with it. Spending a lot of money to distinguish yourself is easier than learning how the technology actually works and rolling up the sleeves and designing and building your own stuff to distinguish yourself.