Hot tranny?

Never really thought this an issue in the past but how warm should the mains transformer get on a valve amp?

I can just touch mine but it's "uncomfortable" and almost ouchie.

Should I be concerned?

• Replies 29
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hey Winno,

Read about ya woes glad ya got it fixed in the end....is it the same amp?

In my experience with them they do get hot, if you can hold your hand on it for say 30 seconds and it becomes uncomfortable that's what I would call cool running and normal.

I am no expert but hope that helps.

And Nude your dry wit always puts a smile on my face:D

one of the guidelines of working with solid state (chips or transistors etc) is that they never get too hot to put your hand on for 30 seconds or more - below this heat is ok.

a mains transformer would be far tougher than chips and transistors, but still, i'd be looking at cooling it down if you could.

one thing that is often overlooked is ventillation - think about where cool air would be drawn in to replace the hot air rising from the transformer and make sure these airways are free for air to flow. passive cooling such as this can really make a difference..

but having said all that, valve amps certainly do get hot, and if the designer has done their sums right the fuse will blow if there's a problem so it might just be that it just gets this hot!

Never really thought this an issue in the past but how warm should the mains transformer get on a valve amp?

I can just touch mine but it's "uncomfortable" and almost ouchie.

Should I be concerned?

Sounds like it's running at about 60oC. Whilst it is probably too hot for electrolytic caps, which may be mounted nearby, it's not too hot for a transformer. Transformers can usually operate at around 90 ~ 100oC for extended periods.

However, for a designer to allow a transformer to run warm, suggest several possibilities:

1) That a very cheap, crappy transformer is being used.